top of page

WTH? That's a gravel road....


There are a lot of crazy things that happen on road trips but I assumed following GPS would keep us on paved roads. I'm here to tell you, that was a false assumption. So we had a pleasant drive across Wyoming today, until about 30 minutes from our destination. Winds had died down and Wyoming does it right with their roads, in the case that you are in an RV. Pretty wide, smooth, and even through the Big Horn Mountain Range, while windy and up/down, relatively easy to manage... even in Stevie The Big Rig.

Jeremy drove the first part of the day and I took over somewhere before we hit Big Horn. Jake was my co-pilot for a few hours and was hilarious about wanting to take pictures through the mountains. There were a number of pull-offs to stop but there would be a big line of trees in the way to get a good shot or the pull-off was on the wrong side of the road. His commentary was so funny. "Seriously, don't they realize this would be a perfect place for a pull-off, look at that view. What the heck were they thinking...." Easy big 9 year old.

Bryce started to co-pilot about an hour outside of Cody, WY, our destination for the evening. We go from interstate, to a state road. okay, fine. Then state road to a county road. okay, no problem? Then county road, leads to another county road with no center line. okay, hmmmm...... "turn right in a quarter of a mile" yes, yes, right there by that fence post and cow wondering why on earth you are on his road. It all "happened so fast" but here's the gist.

me: Um, this is a gravel road??? What the heck? Well, it's only 2.4 miles, I guess it gets us over to where we need to be?

If you have ever wondered what it's like to drive for 2.4 miles in an RV down a gravel road in the middle of nowhere Wyoming. I will describe this for you. It's the loudest, bone rattling, teeth chattering, everything is falling out of cabinets/fridge/beds/chairs shaking, did I mention loudest experience. EVER. We are creeping along at 15 MPH, if that. Can't hear ourselves think and Bryce yells, "I'm calling Aunt Tanya!!" He dials but can't even hear if she answers or not, tries to leave a voicemail. (fail) For the record, I'm dying laughing this whole time. Jeremy is sitting on the couch icing his ankle and doing a really good job not commenting (read yelling at me) on this really stupid turn while I know he wants to kill me right now for going down this gravel road without questioning it.

me (screaming over the noise): okay guys! .2 miles more and we're on a different road!

.2 miles comes and we take a left... onto ANOTHER gravel road. TWO more miles of insanity. My hands are numb. And I'm starting to not just laugh, but crazy laugh at this point. Like the "Mom is laughing but it's a scary laugh, I don't think this is funny" kind of laugh. With our eggs officially scrambled, we made it to the end of this road and THANK GOD it was a paved state road. If it was another gravel one, there is a very good chance Jeremy would be on a plane ride home right now from Cody, WY. LOL... in reality, all he said was, "guys, be careful when you open any of the closets or doors, everything is going to be everywhere. (long pause) Let's not take any more gravel roads even if GPS says so."

Truth- I was expecting a totally different reaction. :)

bottom of page